eXtream Software Development Forum

Full Version: Blue Snowball
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi there!

My first post and basically my first step into the world of tablet-based recording.

So, my tablet is Samsung Galaxy S2 New Edition. I've purchased AEM and USB recorder Pro. I'll receive my Blue Snowball-mic maybe next monday. I've been using DAWs since 2005 and I've made a few albums etc, so the basics are quite "there" :D But I'd like to know about the setup, optimizations etc about this genre. Monitoring, low latency recording etc. I bought these things to make a proper "notepad" for my musical ideas on the road, quickies for home recording etc. So, any insights and opinions, experiences etc about these issues are more than welcome!

Let's rock! :D

Ukko
Does Galaxy S2 has USB host mode? Without that any external USB device cannot be used with the phone.
http://www.samsung.com/fi/consumer/mobil...819NZKENEE

And I have used it with USB OTG-cable and the tab saw my usb stick, also my usb midi keyboard and it was working just fine.
Got my mic today! It seems to be there's no way to monitor your input signal, but I think I can live with that. Actually I did some testing with my own vocals to a rehearsal track (demo song without vocals, rendered to a mp3 from Reaper session) and almost immediately fell in love with the workflow!

So there are three settings: 1) cardioid 2) cardioid -10db 3) omni. The first one is great for acoustic guitar, gain setting is just about right. So, that's good. Second one is good for vocals, at least for my own voice, regarding gain. Yeah! I haven't tried the third setting, yet, but if that's as good as the others (but different tonal character, obviously) I'm good and a happy camper!